Civil Service Commission


The Commission holds regular meetings at City Hall at least once per month unless cancelled, and may hold additional meetings at any time.  All such meetings are open to the public unless a closed meeting or executive session is required or permitted by law. 

For the most part, regular Commission meetings are held on the 2nd Tuesday of the month at 5:30 p.m.

Our next meeting is scheduled for:
           August 8, 2017
            City Council Chambers
           1 City Hall Place (3rd floor)
           Pueblo CO, 81001

Agendas and Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings.
Most Recent Agenda | View All

Minutes are available after approval by the Commission.
Most Recent Minutes | View All

Civil Service Commission
The Civil Service Commission is composed of 3 members elected to 6-year, staggered terms:
  • Sharon Bonner - Term Expires December 31, 2021
  • Guy Kennedy - Term Expires December 31, 2019
  • Chair, Dan Archibeque - Term Expires December 31, 2017
Mission Statement of the Civil Service Commission
It is the mission of the Civil Service Commission to maintain the professionalism and integrity of the positions we have been elected to, while fulfilling the duties and responsibilities explained in Section 6 of the Pueblo City Ordinances.

Also, we will work to obtain the necessary technology to ensure that the Civil Service Commission is providing well-qualified persons for citywide employment positions through utilization of credible and reliable testing instruments and selection processes.

  • Hold periodic competitive examinations for purposes of establishing position eligibility lists
  • Locate and identify, through merit and fitness testing, the best candidates for the City of Pueblo's classified jobs
  • Provide a neutral setting so the Civil Service Commission can hear the type of appeals that are specified in the Pueblo Municipal Code
  • Provide effective, efficient, and friendly customer service to persons who have business with the Civil Service Commission
  • Update and improve the means whereby applicants can apply for city jobs