Organizational Descriptions


Organizational Descriptions
The Pueblo Police Department is an organization that is comprised of highly professional and dedicated men and women who are responsible for the preservation of public peace, prevention of crime, apprehension of criminals, protection of the rights of persons and property, and the enforcement of the laws of the state and the ordinances of the City of Pueblo.

Mission Statement

The mission statement of the Pueblo Police Department, is "to enhance the quality of life in the City of Pueblo by working cooperatively with our community and within the framework of the United States Constitution, to solve crime problems and to enforce the laws, preserve the peace, reduce fear and provide for a safe environment."

Police Employment

The Pueblo Police Department consists of 274 authorized positions, 207 of which are sworn officer positions and 67 are civilian positions (of the authorized positions, 14 sworn officer positions and 5 civilian positions are currently frozen). At full strength, the department hierarchy is as follows:
  • 1 Chief of Police
  • 2 Deputy Chiefs
  • 8 Captains
  • 25 Sergeants
  • 55 Corporals
  • 115 Patrol Officers
The department is organized into 2 bureaus, the Operations Bureau, and the Services Bureau. Each bureau is lead by a Deputy Chief, who reports to the Office of the Chief of Police. PD Organizational Chart

Office Of The Chief of Police

The Office of the Chief of Police is responsible for the overall operation of the Police Department.

Should you have any questions or concerns regarding the Office of the Chief, you can contact Chief Luis Velez or Ms. De Shaw, the Executive Assistant to the Chief, at 719-553-2420.